(225) 925-1906     Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Board of Directors

Board of Directors Selection Process

Capital Area Human Services District was established in 1997 by the Louisiana Legislature. The District concept shifts policy authority and fiscal responsibility from a state-controlled central office to a locally nominated and governor-appointed board of 17 members, representing each of the CAHS parishes and the fields of community-based mental health, addictive disorders, and developmental disabilities.

Capital Area Human Services Board Members


Christy Burnett

Becky Katz


East Baton Rouge

Dana Carpenter, PhD

Gerri Hobdy

Victoria King

Virginia Pearson

Thomas Sawyer, Vice Chair

East Feliciana

Pending 2 Appointments



Kathy D’Albor

Rev. Louis Askins


Pointe Coupee

Laverne Aguillard

Gail Hurst

West Baton Rouge

Stacey Morales

Gary Spillman


West Feliciana

Amy Betts, Chair,

Pending 1 Appointment